Currently Reading: The Road, Cormac McCarthy

The Road – Cormac McCarthy (2006)

I’m about a quarter of the way through reading this at the moment. I’ve been reading it on and off for the past month and have a goal to finish it by the end of November.

When I started reading it I had absolutely no idea what to expect from it. I didn’t know anything about the plot but I had heard so much praise for it so when I saw it in a second hand bookstore in Newtown on my birthday this year I immediately grabbed it (and made Gareth purchase it for me as a birthday gift).

Going in blind may or may not have been the best idea (I suppose I’ll find out when I finish it) but I think not knowing anything about the plot and thinking it would be a totally different kind of novel than it is was probably a hindrance initially. To be honest I found it kind of boring in the beginning. It was page after page of a man and his son traversing a road heading south (towards what, I’m not sure yet) with no apparent action yet. Just recently I’ve reached a part where some action does take place (I won’t say anything lest anyone reading this is spoiled) so it is gearing up to be a bit more exciting. Having said all this I will continue to read The Road as the reviews for it are pretty outstanding and also they made a film from it in 2009 starring Viggo Mortensen which I won’t allow myself to watch until I’ve finished the book.

Goal: Finish reading The Road by the end of November 2014 

Leave a Reply

