Death by Kayla

First blog post in 2015!

I read back on my last post about running and can safely say I have FAILED that goal! Don’t think I even went for 1 run since writing it. I suck.

In December I did start doing a different exercise program though. It was called Blogilates/ POP Pilates by a woman named Cassey Ho. She has created a bunch of freely available YouTube videos in which she does certain pilates moves and routines and then has created different calenders based around these videos so you can follow a specific program. I started doing the ‘Beginners Calender’ and got about 3 weeks into before the Christmas/ New Year period and fell off the wagon. However in the time that I was doing those videos every day I felt great! The moves focused on different body parts and I found them to be challenging. I think I started to see some abs coming through too…

Anyway, in the time between me stopping doing the POP Pilates work outs and now, I have discovered a woman named Kayla Itsines and her 12 week ‘Bikini Body Challenge’. It sounds a bit gimmicky and lame but I am a total sucker so have decided to undertake the challenge. This one comes in the form of an e-book which is available for purchase from Kayla’s website but I am sure there are other ways to obtain it without the cost…

The idea of the 12 week Bikini Body Challenge is that for the duration of the program you do 3 strength training exercises (of about half an hour each) and 3 light intensity cardio sessions weekly with stretching throughout. The results that Kayla promises are that by the end of the program you will have prominent, rock hard abs and perfectly toned thighs and butt. Of course you have to ensure that what you eat is healthy and conducive to building muscle, which is equally as important (if not more) as the work outs too. The before and after photos that are on display on Kayla’s website and Instagram are pretty incredible and really serving as a huge motivation to me. I am on the second week of the challenge and today I completed the cardio & legs work out. Last week every single part of my body hurt for days and days so hopefully the exercises are working…

I think the main things I need to focus on with this challenge are:

1) eating more food – especially more protein 

I normally don’t eat all that much food every day however I do have pig outs of junk food fairly regularly. I don’t really feel hungry that much so when I snack it’s generally because I’m bored. I want to focus on eating more good, nutritious food every day, especially protein since I want to build muscle. Hopefully as I exercise more my appetite will increase too.

2) making sure I don’t get bored/ distracted/ fall off the wagon at some point during the program

This is definitely a huge danger for me, as demonstrated through my history of running and my short stint of POP Pilates. I really, really want to succeed with this so I have to ensure I remain disciplined and find time every day to do the required work outs. They are bloody hard but I enjoy the feeling of success afterwards.

Is there anyone else starting out with the Bikini Body Challenge at the moment? Would love to have a read of your blog and bitch about how much the workouts hurt together! 

Leave a Reply

